FOURT LAUDERDALE DUI LAWYER
Florida has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. Those caught driving a motor vehicle with a BAL (Blood Alcohol Level) level of .08% or higher are virtually assured of an arrest. After such an arrest, it is imperative to hire an attorney who is very experienced in handling DUI cases. Our firm has the experience that you are looking for. As former prosecutors, Perlet & Shiner, P.A., has insight in to both sides of a DUI case. Our legal team can provide the accused with the advantage they need for the best possible defense in South Florida.
An arrest for DUI is not limited to alcohol. The term DUI is an acronym for 'Driving Under the Influence.' The 'influence' can be anything from alcohol to drugs, or even over-the-counter or prescription medications. Anything that a person intakes that impairs driving skills falls under this definition.
Implied consent regarding DUI means that by having a Florida driver's license, you give implied consent (permission) to field sobriety tests and/or Breathalyzer or other test if you are pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence. If you refuse such testing when requested, you will generally be arrested for DUI. Your refusal to submit to all tests can be used against you.
DUI Facts and Figures
In 2008, there were 61,852 DUI arrests in Florida. In Broward County, there were 4,221 DUI arrests, accounting for 7% of all DUI arrests in Florida. That might not sound like much, but consider that Broward County was ranked 3rd in the number of DUI arrests for 2008, behind Hillsborough (5,375) and Miami-Dade (5,022) counties.
Some of the penalties for a First Conviction in a DUI Case Include:
Drug crimes are broken down in to several categories, and penalties vary, depending on the amount and type of substance:
- A fine of between $250 and $500
- Up to 50 hours of community service
- Probation of up to one year
- Up to six months imprisonment (up to nine months if there is a BAC of .08 or greater and a minor in the car at the time of the arrest)
- Losing a driver's license for a minimum of 180 days
- Twelve hours of DUI school and a substance abuse evaluation
- Vehicle immobilization
- Court costs
This is just for a first DUI offense. The penalties become far more severe with subsequent convictions. The experienced attorneys at Perlet & Shiner, P.A., consider all evidence and attempt to unearth any discrepancies when defending all Broward County DUI arrest cases.
Perlet & Shiner, P.A., represents and defends those charged with DUIs in all of Broward County, including Pompano Beach, Coral Springs, Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood and surrounding cities.
CALL US NOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
at 754.422.8550 24 hours a day, 7 days a week